Unwilling Mayor Duterte lulls Mindanao board members in swinging long speech on Presidency as giant billboard rises up in the city

(late upload sept. 20, 2014 news)

Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte was still unwilling to run for President Thursday night in huge gathering of board members in Mindanao but, evidently, he put them in put a long lull with his long speech, about an hour starting past 7:15 P.M., that swang from extreme “brutally frank” thoughts to spicy jokes.

Before the body convening for the 11th Mindanao Island Conference of the Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines at the Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, the mayor told again his running disinterest to run for the country’s top post.

The two-day gathering was also attended by PBML national officers, some vice governors in Mindanao. It was also graced Thursday night by Presidential Adviser on Peace Process Secretary Teresita “Ging” Deles.

“I’ll talk about Presidency. I’ll rumble on. But I’m not interested with the Presidency, I don’t compete, I don’t need it, I simply don’t want it,” he started after welcoming the city’s guests.

He said he didn’t know how the news on his running for President started, saying he first thought it as ” just bad joke.”

That might have started when he refused to the offers to him to lead national agencies, first for the DILG during the Macapagal administration and then the Bureau of Customs during PNoy administration.

Although he found the offers to be “corny”, but he said “sometimes I think of my country. If the universe would put me there, and I found myself there, I’ll study carefully the events, and after six months to one year and there would be no desired changes I wanted. I’ll declare a revolutionary government.”

“I’ll close the Congress not because nagmalinis ako… I’ll close the Congress and start revising with two branches of government (with the Executive and Judiciary). In my oath of office, I’ll address the generals to retire,” he said.

Before a brethren provincial politicians, he said “let me be brutally frank with you on this” that “election is an exercise of corruption” as he talked on double talk of politicians during campaign time whom he said vowed to stop corruption onstage but on the other hand followed up whether the money and goodies for vote buying have been distributed already to the voters.

“‘Wag na tayong magbolahan,” he said, drawing applause from the audience.

The mayor also talked on his plan to abolish the inefficient GSIS and corrupt Bureau of Customs, on raising the monthly salaries of the soldiers and policemen to P100,000, on going for federal system of government as the “only way” to peace, and the challenge of closing the gap between the rich and the poor.

He also recalled his being held hostage by the communists in the past in highlighting the difficult life of the soldiers on field.

Duterte is supporting the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL) “if only we can find peace in Mindanao”.

Also in the affair, he introduced her “second wife” and gamely described his obviously fair-haired girl and daughter, former Mayor Sara “Inday” Duterte, saying, “si Inday? maldita talaga yan”, drawing chuckles from the floor.

He talked again on his being labelled in Manila as “extremist” by the ideas and thoughts on country’s governance, saying: “Which might also be a bad idea to you.”

“But in what way I become extremist?” the mayor asked as he highlighted on what made Davao City to become progressive and peaceful as it is.

Mayor Duterte ended his speech explaining to the board members the several city ordinances that made the city to have no full night life such as the liquor ban, anti-smoking ordinance, and speed limit ordinance.

He quipped that if they want to drink and smoke without prohibition they better go to Samal Island, pointing to the glittering lights in the island, a background scene from the podium where the mayor spoke.

“But if you want to rest and sleep, you go back to Davao City. Your mayor doesn’t smoke as advised by my doctor before as I might die early. Damay-damay na. I’m fond of my son who would not sleep when I don’t get home, so I have to be in the house utmost 12:00 midnight. I have my second wife. You have to follow the leader,” he concluded to the loud applause and titters of his audience.

At around 11:00 Thursday night, the group of barangay captain Mar Masanguid, convenor of the Duterte for President Movement, was seen mounting a huge tarpaulin billboard at the crossing depot in Panacan, Davao City showing the mayor’s bust with words asking people to support him to become the next President in 2016.

It appears that each time Mayor Duterte tells he is not interested to run for President, the movement wanting him to become the next President counters an insistent tit-for-tat move.

Earlier, the group claimed to have already gathered 10 million signatures endorsing Duterte for President. (Rural urban News/Cha Monforte)

Leave a Reply

