OPINION: Belligerent Daneco-CDA

dec. 17, 2012

HASHTAGS BREW
By Cha Monforte

Belligerent Daneco-CDA

The faction Daneco-CDA seems belligerent, and seems so security conscious. I tried for two occasions, Monday and yesterday, to dovetail with the faction’s officials purposely to interview particularly on their collection of power bill payments.
*****
I went to PCU building in Tagum City last Monday afternoon where the Daneco-CDA holds its new office after the Daneco Tipaz office was forcibly closed by authorities last month, and I saw for myself the CISA guards so security conscious with their fingers holding the triggers of their long firearms. I and my driver were stopped and asked where we were headed to. I introduced myself as member of the media. The guards chorused: their “GM” Gerard Osorio, BOD president Abiner Labja and legal counsel Atty. Glenn Blair Carnicer were not around. I believed them. We sped off. 
******
Yesterday, Tuesday, morning I tried again. I was asked again by the same guards who I was? My gosh! I again presented myself as a member of local and national media particularly as reporter of Business Mirror and Philippine News Agency. I gave my calling card. One guard went upstairs to ask for approval. After about five minutes, I was told by the CISA guard that  “wala daw si GM”. I retorted, “kinsa’y nagsulti ana?” The guard replied, “ang body nya.” I replied in jest, “eh di naa diay si GM kay naa man ang body.” The guard reasoned out, “daghan man ug body si GM sir.” So we sped off – with doubts that maybe the “GM” was afraid to be interviewed by media unknown to him or them. Osorio is a new face to me also.
******
The CISA guards’ answers only tell that the Daneco-CDA “GM” Osorio has more than one bodyguard. He might be security conscious because of the standing conflict with Daneco-NEA faction. But Osorio is so lucky “GM” compared to all previous Daneco GMs who had none to have a bunch of bodyguards paid by Daneco-CDA’s separate collections.
******
The collection issue of Daneco-CDA is a public interest issue because it already involves the direct monies of the member-consumers. What if a court declares illegal the current separate collection of Daneco-CDA? Will the payments be credited by the other Daneco, which presumes to be the right and legitimate Daneco, the Daneco-NEA? Because of the differences of the power rates of the two Danecos, what to do now in case there’s a lacking amount, a balance? Good if there’s excess. Huhum, I smell great confusion and havoc in the future in case the court rules that there should only ONE Daneco entity authorized to collect!   
******
I’m not yet talking of transparency over the funds collected, used, spent, deposited, saved, etc by Daneco-CDA at a time when its registration is suspended. Well, they say it’s not yet revoked or cancelled, so they have the right to collect as they still operate legally. Remember folks, the CDA registration of Daneco-CDA is just suspended pending resolution of the issues relating the Writ of Preliminary Injunction (WPI). It’s a long story to tell here. Meantime, the collection centers of the two Danecos inside the Gaisano Mall of Tagum are competing each other, and are playing cat and mouse in the disconnection of delinquent member-consumers (the Daneco-NEA disconnects, and later the Daneco-CDA reconnects, what a bull!)
******
Despite the break-open-closure of Daneco Tipaz office formerly held by Daneco-CDA, the same the damaged good, Daneco now, is a story about two managements, two board of directors, two sets of manpower and two collections, unless Daneco-NEA gets another favorable court decision, or a CDA’s decision to finally cancel Daneco-CDA’s registration to outlaw it. Otherwise, the legit Daneco-CDA gets full legitimacy and full recognition.    
******
But I still hope that Daneco-CDA officials will be open for media interviews. The member-consumers want to know the real score of their payments. The public wants to know if the Daneco-CDA is paying the power obligations to PSALM, NGCP and Therma Marine. And in what amount so far during this conflict time? These queries must be addressed, too, to the Daneco-NEA officials. The public have the right to information through the inquiring media.
******
I should tell the Daneco-CDa guards- I’ve been an objective writer-reporter since then. If ever I sided in one of my past news or opinion, that’s because the source gave me bountiful information to write on. I’m hungrier for data and info. So how can I write news about Daneco-CDA when its officials are either hideous or stonewalling? (For comments, e-mail to: chamonforte@yahoo.com, follow me in my Facebook and Twitter, search cha monforte)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

